Notifications

Monday 18 July 2022


Saturday 31 December 2022

Expo 2020

Join the making of a new world at the greatest showcase of human brilliance and achievement

Monday 11 July 2022


Saturday 31 December 2022

UAE Next 50

The year of preparation for the next fifty requires community collaboration to advance our development drive and its sustainability, and fulfill our aspirations to a better future for our UAE.

Accessibility settings

Text size

A-

A+

Theme color

Color blind mode

Night reading mode

Rate this page

Rated by 3 People

Thanks for rating

Please provide a valid value for Name
Please provide a valid value for Email Address
Please provide a valid value for Phone number
Please provide a valid value for Subject
Please provide a valid value for Message

How the Monetary System Works

What is Money?

To understand the UAE’s monetary system, it is important first to describe what we mean by ‘money’ and delineate between different types of money. Typically, money can be defined according to its ability to satisfy the following three conditions:

  • It is a medium of exchange – it can facilitate the exchange of goods, services, and other assets.
  • It is a store of value – its value vis-à-vis goods and services does not fluctuate wildly over time.
  • It serves as a unit of account – it is used as a measure of the value of goods and services.

 

One can consider banknotes and coins – currency in circulation – as meeting these three conditions. However, currency in circulation accounts for a relatively small fraction of the total volume of all money within the UAE’s monetary system. For example, total currency in circulation and physical cash at banks accounted for just 6.3% of all money as at the end of 2020.

 

Different Types of Money

Rather than its physical form, the digital representations of money (in the form of an IOU) have long accounted for the vast majority of money supply. This includes deposits at commercial banks held by individuals, corporates and governments, as well as commercial bank deposits and related assets held at the Central Bank of the UAE. With this in mind, and for the purposes of explaining the monetary system, it is important to distinguish between central bank money and commercial bank money. To this end, the CBUAE defines the following different types of monetary aggregates:

Monetary Base (MB) – defined in Decretal Law No. 14 of 2018 as the sum of (1) currency issued (currency in circulation outside banks and cash at bank), (2) aggregate balances of current accounts of licensed financial institutions with the CBUAE, including reserve requirements, in addition to any other funds deposited with the CBUAE for the purpose of clearing and settlement operations, and (3) the outstanding balance of securities and financial instruments issued by the CBUAE;

M1 – Consists of currency in circulation outside banks, plus monetary deposits in local currency with banks (all short-term deposits on which bank customers can withdraw without prior notice).

M2 – Consists of Money Supply (M1) plus quasi-monetary deposits (Resident Time and Savings Deposits in Dirhams plus Resident Deposits in foreign currencies).

M3 – Consists of Money Supply (M2) plus government deposits.

Broadly speaking, the Monetary Base can be referred to as ‘central bank money’, such that it is a CBUAE liability. As per the definition above, this includes physical currency issued (notes and coins). It also includes funds held by commercial banks at the CBUAE, which are used as a medium of exchange for transactions between banks, commonly referred to as bank reserves. It also includes any securities or other liabilities issued by the CBUAE, such as Monetary Bills.

Deposits defined under M1, M2 and M3, by contrast, may be referred to commercial bank money. M1, M2 and M3 are also commonly referred to as ‘broad money’. In a modern economy, the stock of commercial bank money exceeds the stock of central bank money by several multiples. For example, as at the end of 2020, the UAE Monetary Base amounted to AED 427 billion, whereas the stock of M3 was close to AED 1.8 trillion. In other words, the stock of money in the form of deposits at commercial banks (whether by individuals, businesses, or government) accounts for the vast majority of money in the UAE economy.

 

How Money is Created

With the above delineation between central bank and commercial bank money in mind, we can now describe the process of money creation. Commercial bank money, in the form of bank deposits, can be created when an individual or business deposits currency they have earned at a commercial bank. However, this leaves the total stock of money unchanged as the bank customer simply exchanges one type of money for another. However, commercial banks can also create deposits by extending loans. This arises out of a simple accounting identity. When a bank makes a loan, it credits the deposit account of the borrower with an amount corresponding to the loan size. For example, when somebody takes out a car loan of AED 50,000, the impact on the commercial bank’s balance sheet is as follows:

 

Impact of Borrowing on a Commercial Bank's Balance Sheet

Assets

Liabilities

Car Loan (AED +50,000)

Customer Deposit (AED +50,000)

 

As shown above, when the car loan is made, both the asset (the loan) and the liability (the deposit) side of the bank’s balance sheet increases. As a consequence of this accounting identity, the new loan has therefore increased the total money supply. Even if the deposit is transferred to another bank to facilitate payment of the car, the impact on the aggregate money supply remains. Conversely, when a loan is paid back, this reduces both the liability side in the form of the customer deposit and the asset side in the form of the loan amount outstanding. As a consequence, the process of credit creation and repayments play a very important role in determining the money supply in a modern economy.

Given the above, it may be tempting to think that commercial banks can create money out of thin air and there is some truth to this notion. However, in practice there are a number of factors that limit the extent to which banks can lend and therefore create money. Such factors include:

  • Market forces preventing banks from extending additional loans profitably.
  • Banks’ considerations regarding the riskiness of extending additional loans.
  • Regulatory constraints such as the liquidity ratios imposed by the CBUAE.
  • Demand for loans by the public and governments.
  • Changes in interest rates.

 

The CBUAE, in its analysis of domestic markets, keeps track of these various factors. One example of this includes developments in credit conditions covered in the CBUAE’s Credit Sentiment Survey.

The process by which central bank money supply – the Monetary Base – changes is different. As per its monetary policy objective, the CBUAE maintains a fixed exchange rate of the UAE Dirham against the US Dollar. In practice, this means that the CBUAE must intervene in the foreign exchange market in order to maintain parity of the UAE Dirham against the US Dollar. To that end, the CBUAE commits to buy UAE Dirhams against US Dollars from the market at a rate of 3.673, and sell UAE Dirhams against US Dollars at a rate of 3.672 with eligible market counterparties. For this to be credible, the CBUAE requires a stock of liquid foreign currency reserves with which to intervene. Decretal Federal Law No. (14) of 2018 imposes a “Monetary Base Cover” requirement. This requires that the market value of the CBUAE’s foreign reserves shall not, at any time, be less than 70% of the Monetary Base, thereby ensuring credibility of the exchange rate regime.

As a result of its monetary policy objective, the CBUAE’s balance sheet is mainly US Dollar ‘asset-driven’. That is, most changes in the Monetary Base are fully matched by a corresponding change in foreign reserves. For example, consider what happens when capital inflows increase due to speculation on the property market. In order to prevent the UAE Dirham appreciating, the CBUAE will sell UAE Dirhams for US Dollar at a fixed rate of 3.672, with the UAE Dirham funds deposited at the CBUAE in the form of reserve balances. In doing so, the asset side of the CBUAE’s balance sheet expands in the form of foreign reserves while the liabilities side expands in the form of bank deposits (bank reserves). As a consequence of this intervention, the UAE’s Monetary Base expands.

 

What about interest rates?

As noted above, most of the money supply is created in the form of commercial bank money arising whenever a commercial bank makes a loan. The Monetary Base, however, can exert a powerful influence over broader forms of money due to its effect on market interest rates. Recall that the Monetary Base includes funds that commercial banks have deposited at the CBUAE. Such funds, known as bank reserves, are used to facilitate payments in the broader economy. For example, when you make a payment for a coffee via a debit card and the café owner’s bank is different to that of yours, such funds are settled between banks via their reserve (settlement) accounts at the CBUAE. In order to facilitate such payments and to meet regulatory obligations, banks therefore need to maintain some volume of funds in their reserve accounts at the CBUAE. When a bank requires additional funds to meet such obligations, it will go to the interbank market to borrow funds from another bank. The rates charged on interbank borrowing then determine interest rates across a broader set of products for individuals and corporates. In the event that a bank is unable to borrow from another bank, the bank may borrow from the CBUAE at an above-market rate.

In the UAE, the supply of bank reserves are significantly greater than needed to facilitate payments and meet regulatory obligations. This is referred to as “structural excess liquidity”, and arises in large part due to the UAE maintaining a large current account surplus over time. As a result of this, supply of reserves exceeds demand by a sizeable margin. Under such a monetary system, it is necessary for the CBUAE to place a floor under which interest rates can fall no further. The CBUAE achieves this by operating an Overnight Deposit Facility (ODF), whereby banks can deposit their excess reserves at the end of each business day. The rate paid on the ODF, the Base Rate, is the key CBUAE monetary policy rate, and is a key determinant of all interest rates in the UAE. It is the rate at which banks, having exhausted all options to lend in the interbank market, will receive a minimum interest rate at the CBUAE for their surplus reserves. In the absence of such a floor, interbank interest rates would likely fall to zero.

While the CBUAE can set a Base Rate, it cannot do so independently. Recall that the CBUAE maintains a fixed exchange rate of the UAE Dirham against the US Dollar. For this arrangement to remain stable, it requires that interest rates are closely aligned with US interest rates. If interest rates in the UAE are too high relative to the US, this will encourage speculative inflows. Conversely, if interest rates in the UAE are too low, capital outflows may arise. To that end, the Base Rate is closely aligned with US interest rates. Specifically, the Base Rate is aligned to the US Federal Reserve’s Interest on Reserve Balances (IORB) rate, though the CBUAE may adjust this alignment on occasion depending on market conditions. The CBUAE also monitors flows of funds closely to ensure that monetary policy settings do not inadvertently encourage speculative flows.

The means by which the CBUAE manages its monetary policy is referred to as a “floor system.” That is, structural excess liquidity is maintained as a policy choice, as the CBUAE seeks to target a level of structural excess liquidity. This is known as the CBUAE’s excess reserves target, whose purpose is to ensure that overnight interbank interest rates are consistent with the Base Rate, while at the same time ensuring that commercial bank reserves are not sufficiently large that they impede capital market development. The CBUAE intervenes in the domestic market to meet its excess reserves target. Such intervention is known as ‘Open Market Operations’.

To demonstrate how this works, we can consider an example of capital outflows from the UAE. In this example, AED 5 billion flows out of the UAE via a foreign exchange transaction with the CBUAE. This reduces the CBUAE’s Net Foreign Assets and the reserves balances of banks at the CBUAE, resulting in a contraction of the monetary base by AED 5 billion.

 

Step 1: AED 5 billion flows out of the UAE

Assets

Liabilities

(1) Net Foreign Assets -5 billion

(1) Bank Reserves at the CBUAE -5 billion

 

In such an example, we can then consider that excess reserves held by banks falls below the CBUAE’s excess reserves target. Consequently, this scarcity of reserves may cause interbank interest rates to spike well above the Base Rate. The CBUAE, seeking to ensure both excess reserves and interest rates are in line with its target, therefore needs to intervene in the domestic market. There are a number of tools available to the CBUAE to intervene, though for the purpose of simplification we consider an outright purchase of domestic assets. In such an example, the CBUAE purchases AED 5 billion in securities denominated in UAE Dirham from the banks. In such transactions, the CBUAE’s net domestic assets increase by AED 5 billion, while bank’s reserve accounts are credited with AED 5 billion.  Such transactions, therefore, offset the impact of currency flows on banks’ reserve accounts, and thereby ensure overnight interbank rates remain in line with the CBUAE’s target.

 

Step 2: The CBUAE Intervenes to offset

Assets

Liabilities

(1) Net Foreign Assets -5 billion

(1) Bank Reserves at the CBUAE -5 billion

(2) Net Domestic Assets +5 billion

(2) Bank Reserves at the CBUAE +5 billion

 

To recap:

  • Most money in the monetary system is created by commercial banks lending money.
  • Central bank money, on the other hand, is largely created by foreign currency flows, but central bank money can influence money supply via interest rates.
  • The CBUAE sets interest rates via its Base Rate, which is closely aligned with US interest rates. This rate sets a floor for the interbank market.
  • The CBUAE intervenes on the domestic market to ensure that overnight interbank rates align with its Base Rate and so that excess bank reserves are consistent with its targeted level.

 

What impact does the currency have?

As noted above, the CBUAE operates a fixed exchange rate regime against the US Dollar. This imposes some limitations on the independence of the CBUAE in setting monetary policy. This arises because of what is referred to as the ’Impossible Trinity’, which states that it is impossible to achieve all three policy options simultaneously: a stable exchange rate, free capital movement, and independent monetary policy. As a consequence, policy makers can only choose two out of the three policy options:

To understand why the impossible trinity is impossible, we can consider what would likely occur should the CBUAE attempt to implement all three options simultaneously. In such an example, the CBUAE may decide to implement an expansionary monetary policy by lowering interest rates. In doing so, this lowers UAE interest rates relative to those prevailing in the US, resulting in an outflow of funds, as participants in the local market are able to make risk-free profits by borrowing in UAE Dirhams and depositing at a higher rate in the US.

This form of carry-trade will eventually increase the supply of UAE Dirhams, pushing downward pressure on the currency and prompting the CBUAE to sell its foreign reserves in order to intervene in the market. If such a condition were to persist indefinitely, the CBUAE will eventually exhaust its stock of foreign reserves, resulting in an abandonment of the fixed exchange rate. Overall, any of the three policies listed in the Impossible Trinity will eventually break, should a policy maker attempt to implement all three at once.

Rate this page

Rated by 3 People

Thanks for rating

Last updated on: Monday 29 August 2022

Total visitors 1397

)
)

الإشعارات

الإثنين 18 يوليو 2022


الإثنين 01 يناير 0001

إكسبو 2020

انضموا إلينا في مسيرتنا لنصنع عالماً جديداً في أكبر عرض من الإنجازات البشرية المتميزة.

الإثنين 11 يوليو 2022


السبت 31 ديسمبر 2022

الخمسين عاماً المقبلة لدولة الإمارات

عام الاستعداد للخمسين.. عام سيشكل بإذن الله منعطفا نوعيا في مسيرتنا المباركة.. نكتب فيه فصولا جديدة في محركاتنا الاقتصادية والمجتمعية والتنموية المتسارعة لنكون الأفضل عالميا خلال خمسين عاماً قادمة

الإعدادات

حجم الخط

A-

A+

تغيير اللون

إعدادات عمى الألوان

القراءة الليلية

قيّم هذه الصفحة

قُيّمت الصفحة من قبلِ 4 مستخدماً

شكراً على التقيّم

يرجى ملء الإسم
يرجى إرسال عنوان بريد إلكتروني صحيح
يرجى تقديم رقم هاتف صحيح
يرجى ملء الموضوع
الرجاء إدخال قيمة صالحة للرسالة

كيفية عمل النظام النقدي

ما هو النقد؟

حتى نتمكن من فهم النظام النقدي لدولة الإمارات، من المهم في بادئ الأمر تقديم وصف لما نعنيه بـ "النقد"، وتحديد أنواعه المختلفة. وفي العادة، يمكن تعريف النقد وفقاً لقدرته على تلبية الشروط الثلاثة التالية:

  • أن يكون وسيلة تبادل – يمكنها تسهيل تبادل السلع والخدمات والأصول الأخرى
  • أن يكون مخزناً للقيمة – أي أن قيمته مقابل السلع والخدمات لا تتقلب بشكل كبير بمرور الوقت
  • أن يعمل كوحدة حسابية – تستخدم كمقياس لتحديد قيمة السلع والخدمات.

 

أما أول ما قد يتبادر إلى ذهن الشخص عند ذكر النقد فهو الأوراق النقدية والعملات المعدنية "النقد المتداول" التي تلبي هذه الشروط الثلاثة. ومع ذلك، يمثل النقد المتداول جزءاً صغيراً نسبياً من الحجم الإجمالي لجميع الأموال ضمن النظام النقدي لدولة الإمارات. وعلى سبيل المثال، يمثل إجمالي النقد المتداول والنقد المادي لدى البنوك على ما نسبته 6.3% فقط من إجمالي الأموال في نهاية العام 2020.

 

أنواع النقد

إلى جانب شكلها المادي المعروف، تمثل النماذج الرقمية للنقد في شكل سند إقرار الدين النسبة العظمى من المعروض النقدي. ويشمل ذلك الودائع في البنوك التجارية التي يحتفظ بها الأفراد والشركات والحكومات، إضافة إلى ودائع البنوك التجارية والأصول ذات الصلة المحتفظ بها في المصرف المركزي. ومع وضع هذا الواقع في الاعتبار، وحتى نتمكن من شرح النظام النقدي، يكون من الأهمية بمكان التمييز بين أموال المصرف المركزي والأموال الموجودة لدى البنوك التجارية. ولتحقيق ذلك، يحدد المصرف المركزي الأنواع المختلفة التالية من الإجماليات النقدية:

القاعدة النقدية: يتم تعريفها بموجب المرسوم بقانون اتحادي رقم (14) لسنة 2018 على أنها تشمل ما يأتي: (1) النقد المُصدر (النقد المتداول خارج البنوك والنقد المادي لدى البنوك)، (2) مجموع أرصدة الحسابات الجارية للمنشآت المالية المرخصة المودعة لدى المصرف المركزي، ويشمل ذلك الاحتياطي الإلزامي، بالإضافة إلى أي أموال أخرى مودعة لدى المصرف المركزي لأغراض عمليات المقاصة والتسوية، و(3) الرصيد القائم من الأوراق والأدوات المالية المصدرة من قبل المصرف المركزي.

ن1 - يتكون من النقد المتداول خارج البنوك، إضافة إلى الودائع النقدية بالعملة المحلية لدى البنوك (جميع الودائع قصيرة الأجل التي يمكن لعملاء البنوك سحبها دون إشعار مسبق).

ن2 - تتكون من عرض النقد (ن1)، يضاف إليه الودائع شبه النقدية (ودائع الادخار ولأجل للمقيمين بالدرهم، إضافة إلى ودائع المقيمين بالعملات الأجنبية).

ن3 - يتكون من عرض النقد (ن2)، إضافة إلى الودائع الحكومية.

بشكل عام، يمكن الإشارة إلى القاعدة النقدية على أنها أموال المصرف المركزي، أي أنها تقع تحت مسؤوليته. ووفقاً للتعريف الوارد أعلاه، يشمل ذلك النقد المُصدر (الأوراق النقدية والعملات المعدنية)، إلى جانب الأموال التي تحتفظ بها البنوك التجارية لدى المصرف المركزي، والتي تستخدم كوسيلة لتبادل المعاملات ما بين البنوك، ويشار إليها عادة باسم الاحتياطيات المصرفية (الأموال الاحتياطية). ويشمل أيضاً أية أوراق مالية أو التزامات أخرى صادرة عن المصرف المركزي، مثل الأذونات النقدية.

في المقابل، يقصد بالودائع المعرفة ضمن فئات (ن1) و(ن2) و(ن3) بأموال البنوك التجارية. وعموماً، قد يطلق أيضاً على (ن1) و(ن2) و(ن3) اسم النقد بمعناه الواسع. وفي الاقتصاد الحديث، يتجاوز مخزون أموال البنوك التجارية مخزون الأموال لدى المصرف المركزي بأضعاف عديدة. وعلى سبيل المثال، بلغت القاعدة النقدية 427 مليار درهم في نهاية عام 2020، في حين بلغ عرض النقد(ن3) من 1.8 تريليون درهم. وهذا يعني أن مخزون الأموال في شكل ودائع لدى البنوك التجارية (سواءً من قبل الأفراد أو الشركات أو الحكومة)، يمثل النسبة العظمى من الأموال في اقتصاد دولة الإمارات.

 

كيف يتم إنشاء النقد؟

مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار التعريف أعلاه بين أموال المصرف المركزي وأموال البنوك التجارية، يمكننا الآن وصف عملية إنشاء النقد. ويمكن إنشاء أموال البنوك التجارية في شكل ودائع مصرفية، عندما يقوم فرد أو شركة بإيداع أموال اكتسبها في أحد البنوك التجارية. ومع ذلك، فإن هذا يترك إجمالي مخزون النقد من دون تغيير، لأن عميل البنك التجاري يقوم ببساطة بتبادل نوع واحد من النقد بآخر. ويمكن للبنوك التجارية أيضًا إنشاء ودائع عن طريق تقديم قروض مصرفية. وينشأ هذا من خلال هوية محاسبية بسيطة. وعندما يقدم البنك التجاري قرضاً مصرفياً، فإنه يقيد مبلغاً في حساب وديعة المقترض بما يماثل حجم القرض المصرفي الممنوح. وعلى سبيل المثال، عندما يحصل شخص ما على قرض لشراء سيارة بقيمة 50,000 درهم، يكون التأثير على الميزانية العمومية للبنك التجاري على النحو التالي:

 

تأثير الاقتراض على الميزانية العمومية للبنك التجاري

الخصوم

الأصول

قرض السيارة (+50,000 درهم)

رصيد العميل من الودائع (+50,000 درهم)

 

وكما هو موضح أعلاه، يزداد كل من الأصل (القرض) والخصم (الرصيد) في الميزانية العمومية للبنك التجاري عندما يتم تقديم قرض السيارة. وبناءً على هذا التعريف المحاسبي، فقد أدى القرض الجديد إلى زيادة إجمالي عرض النقد. وحتى في حال تحويل الوديعة إلى بنك تجاري آخر لتسهيل دفع ثمن السيارة، فسيظل هذا التأثير قائماً على إجمالي عرض النقد. في المقابل، عندما يتم سداد القرض فإن ذلك يقلل من الخصوم في شكل رصيد العميل من الودائع، ومن الأصول في شكل مبلغ القرض المستحق. ونتيجة لذلك، تلعب عملية تقديم قروض ائتمانية  دوراً مهماً للغاية في تحديد عرض النقد في الاقتصاد الحديث.

وعلى ضوء ما سبق، قد يميل البعض للاعتقاد بأن البنوك التجارية يمكنها إنشاء النقد من فراغ، مع أن هناك جانباً من الحقيقة في هذا الشأن. ومع ذلك، هناك عدد من العوامل التي تحدّ من مدى قدرة البنوك التجارية على الإقراض في الممارسة العملية، وبالتالي من قدرتها على إنشاء النقد. ومن بين هذه العوامل:

  • قوى السوق التي تحدّ من قدرة البنوك التجارية على تقديم قروض إضافية مربحة
  • اعتبارات البنوك التجارية المتعلقة بمخاطر تقديم قروض إضافية
  • القيود التنظيمية، مثل نسب السيولة التي يفرضها المصرف المركزي
  • الطلب على القروض من جانب الجمهور والحكومات
  • التغيرات في أسعار الفائدة

 

ويتتبع المصرف المركزي هذه العوامل المختلفة في تحليله للأسواق المحلية. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك، التطورات في الحالة الائتمانية التي يغطيها المصرف المركزي من خلال استطلاع ثقة الائتمان.

وتختلف العملية التي يتغير بها عرض النقد للمصرف المركزي (القاعدة النقدية). وبموجب هدف سياسته النقدية، يحافظ المصرف المركزي على سعر صرف ثابت للدرهم الإماراتي مقابل الدولار الأمريكي. ويعني هذا من الناحية العملية أنه يتعين على المصرف المركزي التدخل في سوق الصرف الأجنبي، من أجل الحفاظ على سعر تعادل ثابت للدرهم مقابل الدولار. ولتحقيق هذا الغرض، يلتزم المصرف المركزي بشراء الدرهم مقابل الدولار من السوق بسعر 3.673 درهم، ويبيع الدرهم مقابل الدولار بسعر 3.672 درهم مع الأطراف المقابلة المؤهلة في السوق. وحتى يكتسب هذا الأمر المصداقية اللازمة، يتوجب على المصرف المركزي المحافظة على مخزون وافر من احتياطيات العملات الأجنبية السائلة للتدخل في السوق. ويفرض المرسوم بقانون اتحادي رقم (14) لسنة 2018 شرط "غطاء القاعدة النقدية". وهذا يتطلب ألا تقل القيمة السوقية لرصيد الاحتياطيات من الأصول الأجنبية للمصرف المركزي في جميع الأوقات، عن 70% من قيمة القاعدة النقدية، ما يؤدي إلى ضمان مصداقية نظام سعر الصرف السائد.

ونتيجة لهدف سياسته النقدية، تعتمد الميزانية العمومية للمصرف المركزي بشكل أساسي على الدولار الأمريكي، ويعني ذلك أن معظم التغييرات في القاعدة النقدية يقابلها تمامًا تغيير مماثل في الاحتياطيات الأجنبية؛ أي أن حجم الميزانية العمومية للمصرف المركزي يتغير وفقا لتدفقات العملات والأصول الأجنبية. وعلى سبيل المثال، يمكن الوضع في الحسبان النتائج المترتبة على زيادة تدفقات رأس المال بسبب المضاربة في سوق العقارات. ولمنع ارتفاع قيمة الدرهم الإماراتي، يقوم المصرف المركزي ببيع الدرهم مقابل الدولار الأمريكي بسعر ثابت قدره 3.672 درهم، مع إيداع أموال الدرهم في المصرف المركزي على شكل أرصدة احتياطية. وبهذه الطريقة، تتوسع الأصول في الميزانية العمومية للمصرف المركزي على شكل احتياطيات أجنبية، بينما تتوسع الخصوم في الميزانية العمومية للمصرف المركزي على شكل ودائع (احتياطيات) مصرفية. ونتيجة لهذا التدخل، تتوسع القاعدة النقدية لدولة الإمارات.

 

ماذا عن أسعار الفائدة؟

بناءً على ما ورد أعلاه، يتم إنشاء معظم عرض النقد على شكل أموال لدى البنوك التجارية التي تنشأ عند تقديمها قروضاً مصرفية. ومع ذلك، يمكن للقاعدة النقدية أن تحدث تغييراً قوياً على عرض النقد بمعناه الواسع، نظراً لتأثيرها على أسعار الفائدة في السوق. وتجدر الإشارة في هذا الصدد إلى أن القاعدة النقدية تشمل الأموال التي أودعتها البنوك التجارية لدى المصرف المركزي. وتستخدم هذه الأموال المعروفة باسم احتياطيات البنوك، لتسهيل المدفوعات في الاقتصاد الأوسع. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك، أنه عندما تقوم بدفع سعر فنجان قهوة عن طريق بطاقة الخصم، في حين يكون البنك التجاري الذي يتعامل معه مالك المقهى مختلفاً عن البنك التجاري الذي تتعامل معه، تتم عملية تسوية هذه الأموال بين البنوك المعنية عبر حسابات الاحتياطي (التسوية) لدى المصرف المركزي. ولتسهيل هذه المدفوعات والوفاء بالالتزامات التنظيمية، فإن البنوك التجارية في نهاية المطاف تكون بحاجة إلى الاحتفاظ ببعض الأموال في حساباتها الاحتياطية لدى المصرف المركزي. وعندما يطلب بنك تجاري ما أموالاً إضافية للوفاء بهذه الالتزامات، فإنه سيتوجه إلى السوق بين البنوك لاقتراض الأموال من بنك آخر. وتحدد الأسعار المفروضة على الاقتراض بين البنوك أسعار الفائدة عبر مجموعة أوسع من المنتجات للأفراد والشركات. وإذا لم يتمكن البنك من الاقتراض من بنك آخر، يمكنه الاقتراض في نهاية المطاف من المصرف المركزي بسعر أعلى من أسعار السوق.

ويكون المعروض من الاحتياطيات المصرفية في دولة الإمارات أكبر بكثير مما هو مطلوب لتسهيل المدفوعات والوفاء بالالتزامات التنظيمية، ويطلق على ذلك مصطلح "السيولة الفائضة الهيكلية". ويعزى ذلك في جانب كبير منه إلى احتفاظ دولة الإمارات بفائض كبير في الحساب الجاري مع مرور الوقت. لذلك، يتجاوز عرض الاحتياطيات الطلب بهامش كبير. وفي ظل هذا النظام النقدي، يكون من الضروري أن يضع المصرف المركزي حداً أدنى لا يمكن لأسعار الفائدة في الأسواق المحلية أن تنخفض دونه كثيراً. ويحقق المصرف المركزي ذلك من خلال تفعيل تسهيلات الإيداع لليلة واحدة، حيث يمكن للبنوك العاملة في الدولة إيداع احتياطياتها الفائضة في نهاية كل يوم عمل. ويكون سعر الفائدة المدفوع على هذه التسهيلات، أو ما يعرف بسعر الأساس، سعر الفائدة الرئيسي المحدد للموقف العام للسياسة النقدية للمصرف المركزي، كونه يمثل العامل المحدِّد الرئيسي لجميع أسعار الفائدة في دولة الإمارات، كما أنه السعر الذي ستحصل به البنوك على حد أدنى من سعر الفائدة من المصرف المركزي مقابل احتياطياتها الفائضة، وذلك بعد استنفاذها جميع خيارات الإقراض في السوق ما بين البنوك. وفي حال غياب مثل هذا الحد الأدنى، تكون أسعار الفائدة بين البنوك عرضة للانخفاض إلى مستوى الصفر.

ومع أنه يمكن للمصرف المركزي تحديد سعر الأساس، قد يتعذر عليه القيام بذلك بشكل مستقل. وتجدر الإشارة في هذا الصدد إلى أن المصرف المركزي يحافظ على سعر صرف ثابت للدرهم الإماراتي مقابل الدولار الأمريكي. وحتى يظل هذا السعر مستقراً وثابتاً، يتطلب أن تكون أسعار الفائدة في الدولة متوافقة بشكل وثيق مع أسعار الفائدة الأمريكية. وإذا كانت أسعار الفائدة في الدولة مرتفعة للغاية مقارنة بالولايات المتحدة، فسيؤدي ذلك إلى عمليات تدفق الأموال إلى دولة الإمارات لغرض المضاربة. في المقابل، إذا كانت أسعار الفائدة في دولة الإمارات منخفضة للغاية، قد يرتفع حجم تدفق الأموال إلى الخارج. ولتحقيق هذا الهدف، يكون سعر الأساس متوافقاً إلى حد كبير مع أسعار الفائدة الأمريكية، حيث يتماشى سعر الأساس تحديداً مع سعر الفائدة على الأرصدة الاحتياطية المعتمد من قبل الاحتياطي الفيدرالي الأمريكي (IORB)، رغم أن المصرف المركزي قد يلجأ إلى تعديل هذا التوافق أحياناً تبعاً لظروف السوق المحلي. ويراقب المصرف المركزي عن كثب تدفقات الأموال من وإلى الدولة للتأكد من أن توجهات السياسة النقدية لا تشجع دون قصد على عمليات المضاربة.

وتعرف الوسائل التي يستخدمها المصرف المركزي لإدارة سياسته النقدية باسم "نظام الحد الأدنى"، أي أنه يتم الاحتفاظ بالسيولة الفائضة الهيكلية كخيار للسياسة النقدية، حيث يسعى المصرف المركزي إلى استهداف مستوى السيولة الفائضة الهيكلية. ويعرف هذا بمصطلح "مستهدف المصرف المركزي من الاحتياطيات الفائضة". ويكون الغرض من هذا المستهدف التأكد من أن أسعار الفائدة لليلة واحدة ما بين البنوك متوافقة مع سعر الأساس، مع ضمان عدم وجود احتياطيات كبيرة لدى البنوك التجارية في نفس الوقت، إلى مستوى قد يؤدي لإعاقة تطور سوق رأس المال في الدولة. ويتدخل المصرف المركزي في السوق المحلية لتلبية مستهدف الاحتياطيات الفائضة. ويُعرف هذا التدخل في السوق باسم "عمليات السوق المفتوحة".

ولتوضيح طريقة عمل ذلك، نأخذ تدفقات رؤوس الأموال من دولة الإمارات إلى الخارج مثالاً على ذلك، حيث تتدفق 5 مليارات درهم من دولة الإمارات عبر عملية صرف أجنبي مع المصرف المركزي. وتؤدي هذه العملية إلى خفض صافي الأصول الأجنبية لدى المصرف المركزي بالإضافة إلى أرصدة احتياطيات البنوك لدى المصرف المركزي، ما يؤدي بدوره إلى تقلص القاعدة النقدية بمقدار 5 مليارات درهم.

 

الخطوة الأولى: 5 مليارات درهم تدفقات من دولة الإمارات إلى الخارج

الخصوم

الأصول

(1) صافي الأصول الأجنبية - 5 مليارات

(1) احتياطيات البنوك لدى المصرف المركزي -5 مليارات

 

في هذا المثال، يمكننا اعتبار أن الاحتياطيات الفائضة التي تحتفظ بها البنوك العاملة في الدولة تقل عن مستهدف المصرف المركزي من الاحتياطيات الفائضة. وبالتالي، قد تؤدي ندرة الاحتياطيات إلى ارتفاع أسعار الفائدة بين البنوك بشكل كبير فوق سعر الأساس. وللتأكد من أن جميع الاحتياطيات الفائضة وأسعار الفائدة تتماشى مع مستهدفه، يتدخل المصرف المركزي في نهاية المطاف في السوق المحلية. ويوجد عدد من الأدوات المتاحة للتدخل من جانب المصرف المركزي، ولكن لغرض التبسيط فإننا نستدل بالشراء المباشر للأصول المحلية. ووفق هذا المثال، يقوم المصرف المركزي بشراء 5 مليارات درهم من الأوراق المالية المقومة بالدرهم من البنوك العاملة في الدولة. ونتيجة لذلك، يرتفع صافي الأصول المحلية للمصرف المركزي بمقدار 5 مليارات درهم، بينما تتم إضافة 5 مليارات درهم إلى الحسابات الاحتياطية لدى المصرف المركزي. وهذا يعني أن مثل هذه المعاملات تعوض تأثير تدفقات العملات على الأرصدة الاحتياطية للبنوك، وتضمن بقاء أسعار الفائدة بين البنوك لليلة واحدة متوافقة تماماً مع مستهدف المصرف المركزي.

 

الخطوة الثانية: المصرف المركزي يتدخل لتحقيق التوازن

الخصوم

الأصول

(1) احتياطيات البنوك لدى المصرف المركزي (-5) مليارات

(1) صافي الأصول الأجنبية (-5) مليارات

(2) احتياطيات البنوك لدى المصرف المركزي (+5) مليارات

(2) صافي الأصول المحلية (+5) مليارات

 

الخلاصة:

  • يتم إنشاء معظم الأموال في النظام النقدي عن طريق إقراض البنوك التجارية للأموال
  • يتم إنشاء أموال المصرف المركزي إلى حد كبير من خلال تدفقات العملات الأجنبية، ولكن هذه الأموال يمكن أن تؤثر على عرض النقد من خلال أسعار الفائدة
  • يحدد المصرف المركزي أسعار الفائدة من خلال سعر الأساس، والذي يتماشى بشكل وثيق مع أسعار الفائدة الأمريكية. ويحدد هذا السعر الحد الأدنى لأسعار الفائدة في سوق ما بين البنوك
  • يتدخل المصرف في السوق المحلية للتأكد من أن أسعار الفائدة بين البنوك لليلة واحدة تتماشى مع سعره الأساس، وأن الاحتياطيات الفائضة للبنوك العاملة في الدولة تتوافق مع المستوى المستهدف.

 

ما تأثير العملة؟

كما ورد سابقاً، يطبق المصرف المركزي نظام سعر صرف ثابتاً للدرهم الإماراتي مقابل الدولار الأمريكي. ويفرض هذا النظام بعض القيود على استقلالية المصرف المركزي في وضع السياسة النقدية. ويعزى ذلك إلى ما يشار إليه بمصطلح "الثالوث المستحيل". وينص هذا الشرط على أنه من المستحيل تحقيق جميع خيارات السياسة الثلاثة في وقت واحد، وهي: سعر صرف مستقر، وحرية تحويل الأموال من وإلى الدولة، وسياسة نقدية مستقلة (حرية تحديد أسعار الفائدة). لذا، يمكن لصانعي السياسات انتقاء خيارين فقط من خيارات السياسة الثلاثة:

وحتى نتمكن من فهم سبب استحالة تطبيق الثالوث المستحيل، يمكننا النظر فيما يمكن أن يحدث إذا حاول المصرف المركزي تنفيذ جميع الخيارات الثلاثة في وقت واحد. ووفق هذا المثال، قد يقرر المصرف المركزي تنفيذ سياسة نقدية توسعية عن طريق خفض أسعار الفائدة. ويؤدي ذلك بدوره إلى خفض أسعار الفائدة في دولة الإمارات مقارنة بمستويات الفائدة في الولايات المتحدة، ما يؤدي إلى تدفق الأموال من دولة الإمارات إلى الخارج، حيث يمكن لمتعاملي السوق المحلية تحقيق أرباح خالية من المخاطر، عن طريق الاقتراض بالدرهم، ومن ثم إيداعها بأسعار فائدة أعلى في الولايات المتحدة.

في نهاية المطاف، سيؤدي هذا الشكل من تجارة المناقلة (carry-trade) إلى زيادة عرض النقد من الدرهم، ما يدفع بالضغط الهبوطي على العملة، وعليه، سيضطر المصرف المركزي لبيع جزء من احتياطاته الأجنبية من أجل التدخل في السوق. وإذا تواصل هذا الظرف إلى أجل غير مسمى، سيستنفذ المصرف المركزي في نهاية الأمر مخزونه من الاحتياطيات الأجنبية، وإجباره على التخلي عن سعر الصرف الثابت. وبشكل عام، فإن أي من السياسات الثلاث المدرجة في الثالوث المستحيل، ستتعرض للكسر في النهاية إذا حاول صانع السياسة (المصرف المركزي) تنفيذ السياسات الثلاث في وقت واحد.

قيّم هذه الصفحة

قُيّمت الصفحة من قبلِ 4 مستخدماً

شكراً على التقيّم

آخر تحديث للموقع: الإثنين 29 أغسطس 2022

إجمالي الزوار 1396

)
)